Statistical excellence in journalism

The above photo shows Christine Jeavons of BBC News receiving the 'Data visualisation' award from RSS president Peter Diggle at the RSS 2015 Conference awards ceremony.

The winners have now been announced for the 2016 awards

The winners for 2016 have now been announced as follows:

Explaining the Facts Category
Alberto Nardelli, The Guardian
The government’s intention of reducing net migration to the “tens of thousands' is directly at odds with its fiscal target

Investigative Journalism Category
Tom Bateman, Today Programme, BBC Radio 4
2,000 schools ‘missing’ from exam help data

Regional Journalism Category
Kathryn Torney, The Detail
Abortion exported: the women travelling for terminations

Data Visualisation Category – winner
John Burn-Murdoch & Pilita Clark, Financial Times
Climate Change calculator

Data Visualisation Category - commendation
Mona Chalabi, Guardian USA

A list of the winners for all three Statistical Excellence Awards, along with full citations from the judges, is available to download (PDF). The awards will be made at our annual awards ceremony in London which takes place on 6 July, followed by our annual summer reception. You can register to attend the ceremony on our events page.

About our awards

We established our awards for statistical excellence in journalism in 2007 to encourage excellence in journalists’ use of statistics to question, analyse and investigate the issues that affect society.

Previous award winners

2015 winners (PDF)
2014 winners (PDF)
2013 winners (PDF)
2012 winners (PDF)
2011 winners (PDF)
2010 winners (PDF)
2009 winners (PDF)
2008 winners (PDF)
2007 winners (PDF)