Home|Events|Contact Us|Cookies|My RSS
Search :   Go
About the RSS
Structure of the Society
Society Activities
Current Vacancies
Governance & Charter
Strategy & Business Planning
Recognising Statistical Excellence
Statistical Excellence in Journalism
Statistical Excellence in the Pharmaceutical Industry
Statistical Excellence in Official Statistics
A Gift to the Future
Contact Us
Visit Us
You are here : About : Recognising Statistical Excellence : Statistical Excellence in Journalism

Awards for statistical excellence in journalism

Nominations for the 2014 award for statistical excellence in journalism by the Royal Statistical Society will open on 17th February 2014.

Key dates for the 2014 Award are as follows:

  • Nominations open on Monday 17 February
  • Deadline for nominations is Friday 25 April 5:00pm
  • Winners announced on 1 July 2014

The Royal Statistical Society established its awards for statistical excellence in journalism in 2007 to encourage excellence in journalists’ use of statistics to question, analyse and investigate the issues that affect society at large. Journalistic excellence in statistics helps citizens to hold decision makers in all sectors to account – through accessible communication of complex information, highlighting of success, and exposure of important missing information.

The judges look for entries that have achieved one or more of the following: 

  • raised awareness and understanding of what statistics are and what they can be used for, and what statistical methods can achieve
  • enabled greater public understanding through an accessible analysis of the statistics put forward to support or challenge the claims of policy makers
  • sourced and used statistics to investigate a societal issue and have an impact on public opinion
  • used statistics well to challenge and/or change the decisions and policies of public or private bodies

Entries will be expected to show integrity in their presentation, explanation and use of statistics – avoiding distortion and highlighting the extent of uncertainties.

To apply please see:

Conditions and Guidance notes

Entry form


Join the RSS - Become part of an organisation working with some of the world's leading Statisticians

Previous Winners

2013 winners

2012 winners

2011 winners

2010 winners

2009 winners

2008 winners

2007 winners