Statistical excellence in journalism

The above photo shows David Rhodes of BBC Yorkshire receiving the ‘Regional Journalism’ award from RSS Vice president for external affairs, Dr Jennifer Rogers at the RSS 2017 awards ceremony.

Entry for the 2018 journalism awards is now closed.
The winners will be announced in the summer.

About our awards

We established our awards for statistical excellence in journalism in 2007 to encourage excellence in journalists’ use of statistics to question, analyse and investigate the issues that affect society. The awards have previously been scooped by reporters from the BBC, BuzzFeed, The Economist and the Financial Times and celebrate the great strides that have been made in journalist’s use of numbers to tell a story.


The categories for 2018 were as follows:

  • Data visualisation – stories which include data visualisation to aid explanation of the statistics being presented
  • Explaining the facts – stories which take a current issue or statistic already published and enable greater public understanding through effective explanation.
  • Investigative journalism – stories which include previously unpublished statistics either through unpublished data that have been sourced and analysed by the journalist or new analyses of existing data
  • Regional – stories from local or regional journalists which include statistics that are related to a local matter, or local or regional journalists that champion the role of statistics in society

Download full details of the criteria here

The winners in 2017

The winners for 2017 were as follows:

Explaining the Facts Category



Data Visualisation

A list of the winners for all four Statistical Excellence Awards, along with full citations from the judges, is available to download (PDF).

Previous award winners

2016 winners (PDF)
2015 winners (PDF)
2014 winners (PDF)
2013 winners (PDF)
2012 winners (PDF)
2011 winners (PDF)
2010 winners (PDF)
2009 winners (PDF)
2008 winners (PDF)
2007 winners (PDF)