Statistics and Law Section


The Section started in 2015. It evolved from a working group of the same name set up in the wake of various child abuse miscarriages of justice at the turn of the century.  The group produced four reports, sponsored by the Nuffield Foundation, as guidance for judges, lawyers, forensic scientists and expert witnesses, with the general theme of ‘Communicating and interpreting statistical evidence in the administration of criminal justice’ and Practitioner guides available free in pdf form.

The purpose of the Section is to enable the Society to make informed and, hopefully, influential contributions to the administration of justice as well as encouraging research and disseminating knowledge amongst the statistical, legal, forensic science and forensic medicine communities. The remit includes civil law as well as criminal law.

This page gives further details about the practitioner guides and details of other work being carried out in this area.


  • To improve the understanding and use of statistics in the administration of justice, both civil and criminal.
  • To provide an interface between the Society and the legal, forensic scientific and justice communities.
  • To promote the research, development and dissemination of statistical and probabilistic reasoning in a forensic context.
  • To be a catalyst within the statistics, forensic medicine, forensic science and legal communities for synergies in their activities.
  • To consider and report appropriately on relevant issues concerning the use of statistics in the legislative process and act as a national focus for statisticians involved in research in forensic statistics or as consultants, eg, as expert witnesses.


Chair: Professor Jane Hutton (University of Warwick)
Vice chair: Professor Niamh Nic Daeid (University of Dundee)
Secretary: Dr Amy Wilson (University of Edinburgh).
Meetings Secretary: Professor Julia Mortera (University of Rome Tre) 

Committee members

Dr Alex Biedermann (Université de Lausanne)
Professor Philip Dawid (University of Cambridge)
Professor Joseph Gastwirth (George Washington University)
Professor Richard Goldberg (Durham University)
Professor Peter Green (University of Bristol)
Professor Graham Jackson (University of Abertay)
Dr Claire McIvor (University of Birmingham)
Leign-Ann Mulcahy QC (Fountain Court Chambers)
Dr Andy Sutherland (Council representative)

Future meetings

Upcoming events will be listed on the and our Section's website

Past meetings

Details can be found on our website.

News and meeting reports

Read news about the section and reports from our meetings.

Additional information

Annual Report 2018
Section website
Mailing list