Statistical honours and awards

RSS president David Spiegelhalter presenting the 2017 Guy Medal in bronze to Yingying Fan

Honours recipients for 2019

In 2019, the following honours will be presented at our awards ceremony in Belfast this September:

  • Guy Medal in Gold: Stephen Buckland
  • Guy Medal in Silver: Susan Murphy
  • Guy Medal in Bronze: Jonas Peters
  • Barnett Award: Marian Scott
  • Research Prize: Tengyao Wang

Here are further details on the 2019 awards.

Nominate for 2020

We are now seeking nominations for the following awards to be made in 2020:

  • Guy Medal in Gold
  • Guy Medal in Silver
  • Guy Medal in Bronze
  • Wood Medal
  • Chambers Medal
  • Research Prize
  • Honorary Fellowships
  • Barnett Award

You can download a summary description of the 2020 honours (PDF) to be awarded by the Society. The deadline for nominations is 1 October 2019. Fellows, members of Council, standing committees, section and local group committees may make nominations. Our Honours Committee, chaired by our President, Deborah Ashby, will consider the nominations. The committee encourages a broad range of nominations to ensure the awards are made to people who best meet the criteria.

Further information

Here are the guidance notes for RSS honours and awards (PDF) which contains information on the criteria for the award and the procedure for nominations.

Download a nomination form for society honours and awards (DOC).

Please email if you need more information about the honours and the nomination process.

Here is a list of previous recipients of the Society's honours (PDF) since 1892.

Details of the 2018 honours can be found at the announcement made on our StatsLife website.