Statistical honours and awards

RSS president Deborah Ashby presenting the 2019 Guy Medals to (l-r) Jonas Peters, Stephen Buckland and Susan Murphy

Each year we award medals and prizes to individuals who have made outstanding contributions to statistics. Our Honours Committee, chaired by our President, Professor Deborah Ashby, considers the nominations and makes recommendations for awards to the RSS Council. The recipients will be invited to be presented with their awards at a ceremony during our annual conference.

Nominations for the 2021 Honours

The following awards are now open for nominations:

  • Guy Medal in Silver
  • Guy Medal in Bronze
  • West Medal
  • Howard Medal
  • Bradford Hill Medal
  • Greenfield Industrial Medal
  • Wood Medal
  • Chambers Medal
  • Research Prize
  • Honorary Fellowship
  • Barnett Award

Here are the summary descriptions (PDF) of the 2021 Honours

Nomination form and guidance notes

Any fellow, member of Council, standing committees, section, special interest group and local group committees may make nominations. Before making a nomination, please read the guidance notes for RSS honours (PDF) which contains information on the criteria for the award and the procedure for nominations.

Use the nomination form (DOCX) to submit nominations for the 2021 honours.

Please email if you need more information about the honours and the nomination process.

Previous Honours recipients

The 2020 Honours recipients.
The 2019 Honours recipients.
The 2018 Honours recipients.

Here is a list of past recipients of the Society's honours (PDF) since 1892. 


The deadline for the submission of nominations is Thursday 1 October 2020.